A True Journalist

Today was a day where I felt like I was a true Journalist. The group woke up early this morning to interview Jerry Mitchell. Mitchell is an investigative reporter for the Jackson The Clarion-Ledger. He has done a countless number of stories on the 1964 triple murder of Schwerner, Goodman, and Chaney.

Having prepared for this interview the night before I expected to ask some questions and hear an exhilarating story from an inspiring journalist. Before we even got to the parking lot we got a call that would most certainly change the course of the day if not the entire trip. CNN called and asked for a news piece as soon as possible, the video and audio was done but we didn’t have any of it edited. Dr. Cheers asked Jerry Mitchell very kindly if I could edit my video somewhere in the newsroom… without hesitation Mitchell said, “sit at my desk.” I sat down and just stared for a moment, knowing I had a ton of work to do but at the same time trying to comprehend the amount of work and effort that he has accomplished behind this desk alone.

After the rest of the group interviewed Mitchell we went to a café and dispersed to work more on our material. I finished editing Justin Perry’s package and sent it off to CNN while they called for updates every three minutes. About 10 minutes after I sent it off I got a text message from a friend who was in Hawaii she said “I just saw your video on CNN.” I just sat there and didn’t know what to do or say… another text from a friend in California and then New Hampshire and then it hit me, my video was being seen across the country! I just stood up and said loudly “CNN already played our stuff!” The moment will be forever ingrained in my mind.

–Justin Allegri

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A True Journalist

  1. charlotte

    Justin A: What an amazing journey! The project is important and the work thought-provoking. I look forward to getting home at night to log in and check the latest posts. Looking forward to hearing more when you get home.

Leave a Reply

