Daily Archives: January 17, 2009

Derek Sijder

Melba Salter, 46, from Monrovia, California reflects after copying the quote from Coretta Scott and Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s grave site in Atlanta, Georgia on Jan. 16, 2009. Sallter and her family will be in attendance at Washington D.C. for Barack Obama’s inauguration. Photo Credit: Derek Sijder

Derek Sijder

Nesta West, 21, visits the gravesite of Coretta Scott King and Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.in Atlanta, Georgia. Photo Credit: Derek Sijder

dsc_1735

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Southern Hospitality

Here are some images of people I have met in the South. Throughout the day we are on a tight schedule but I was able to wander away from the group a couple of times and venture out. I love to explore and meet everyday people. I love it when my camera and instincts tell me to take a further look down the street.

Derrick Jones is an aspiring Gospel singer in Birmingham, Alabama. We share the same name and hit it off right away.

Derrick Jones is an aspiring Gospel singer in Birmingham, Alabama. We share the same name and hit it off right away. Photo Credit: Derek Sijder

Albert and Pat of Mrs. B's soul food restaurant in Birmingham, Alabama has some of the finest ribs I have ever had. I will also never forget their peas. Wish I could go back.

Albert and Pat of Mrs. B's soul food restaurant in Birmingham, Alabama has some of the finest ribs I have ever had. I will also never forget their peas. Wish I could go back. Photo credit: Derek Sijder

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Day 7 by Dovedot-A Reflective Day

Last night, all of us on this historical journey got some much needed rest. Most of us clocked in 8 to 9 hours of sleep last night. We haven’t gotten nearly that much sleep since we left San Jose. To say the least, it was simply wonderful.

As the title says, it was a reflective day. I don’t say this because the pools of water leading to the graves of Dr. King and Coretta Scott King were frozen and reflected our images on the ice at the King Center in Atlanta, Georgia. I say this because I felt a connection with Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Unless I could invent a time machine to transport me back to history’s past, I would never feel as physically close to Dr. King as I felt today.

As I walked through the King Center, I experienced a rush of emotion and chills throughout my body. This rush of emotion also seemed to contain a virtue of patience, reflecting the patience that Dr. King portrayed throughout his life, and patience we’ve all endured while waiting for Dr. King’s dream to become a reality. I began to tear up while reading one of his speeches. Not only from the words that I was reading, but from the passion emitting behind those words. His words were inspiring, and conveyed a personal touch that felt as if he were speaking directly to me. All in all, this visit to the King Center helped to remind me again, of what a great man Dr. King was, and how fortunate I am to be on this historical journey.

We are now five hours north of Atlanta, and situated in a hotel in Burlington, North Carolina (right outside of Greensboro).

Night and morning.

Nick

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Grateful For This Opportunity

Opera aficionado, Sarah Caldwell, once said, “Learn everything you can, anytime you can, from anyone you can-there will always come a time when you will be grateful you did”. That is what this trip is for me.

Any journalism student yesterday would have LOVED to have been in our shoes. I mean, we went to CNN! Everyone has been doing an awesome job representing our team. I am so excited about everything and everyone we have been so blessed to have come across. From meeting the honorable Reverend Samuel “Billy” Kyles on the first day, to visiting the Emmett Till sites, to speaking with Jerry Mitchell, to visiting the 16th Street Baptist Church, every single moment is one that I will never forget.

World's best driver, Anthony Orosco. Photo credit Derek Sijder.

World's best driver, Anthony Orosco. Photo credit Derek Sijder.

Shout out to Anthony Orosco, our WONDERFUL and dedicated driver, and San Jose Fireman, for all his wisdom, laughter and for blessing us with his impeccable driving skills.

Stay tuned. More to come.

Peace and Blessings,

Angela A. Hughes

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Day 7 by Dovedot-Pictures

Nick Dovedot

One of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.'s speeches. Photo Credit: Nick Dovedot

The amazing Anthony and Jade Atkins expressing emotion being embraced by Anthony and near the graves of Dr. and Mrs. King.

The amazing Anthony and Jade Atkins expressing emotion being embraced by Anthony and near the graves of Dr. and Mrs. King.

Nick Dovedot

Justin Allegri and the amazing and wise Anthony (our driver and friend). Photo Credit: Nick Dovedot

Nick Dovedot

Bianca de Castro connecting with the spirits of Dr. King and Correta Scott King. Photo Credit: Nick Dovedot

The graves of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and Coretta Scott King.

The graves of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and Coretta Scott King.

Nick Dovedot

Atlanta, Georgia at the King Center. Water turned into ice. Photo Credit: Nick Dovedot

Night and morning.

Nick

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized